Just 11km from Rylstone, the very picturesque Bylong Valley was first explored by William Lawson in 1822 after the discovery of the Goulburn River which was named after Henry Goulburn, the Colonial Secretary. Today the Bylong Valley is a lush and green area famous for racehorse and beef cattle studs. There is a general store, a school and a public hall.
Just over 40km from Kandos, Glen Alice sits at the beginning of the Wollemi National Park, a completely uninhabited area which extends north along the Great Dividing Range. At the north-east end, the Nile Creek rises and flows down over wide sandy flats. This area is one of sheep and cattle. It is said to have been much favoured by many artists for its scenery and colours.
Situated deep in the Capertee Valley, the second largest enclosed valley in the world, Glen Davis is located on tourist drive 2 and easily accessible. It's the ideal place to view the changing colours of the magnificent 500m escarpments of the Wollemi National Park. The town was established in 1939 to service the shale oil petroleum requirements of Australia in WWII and was named after the Davis Gelatine family who bankrolled it.
What remains today are mine ruins that are open for tours on weekends and a restored Art Deco Boutique Hotel. It is also the gateway to Coorangooba Campground and the Newness Pipeline walking track. Notably, the valley is listed as one of the top 50 bird-watching spots in the world as an International Important Bird Area (IBA).
40km from Mudgee, Hargraves is often referred to as the veteran of the region’s gold towns. The gold rush began there in 1851 with the discovery of the famous ‘Kerr’s Hundredweight’, a nugget which contained 1,272 ounces of gold. Since the surge of miners that followed this discovery, Hargraves is now a quiet and peaceful village with a general store, post office and school.
Lue (chain of waterholes) believed to be pronounced in the Aboriginal language like ‘Loo-wee’ was originally named Dungaree. The village was moved to allow for the installation of the rail line in 1884 when it was a busy little village on the route to the Hunter Region. In its heyday, Lue boasted a bakery, hotel, blacksmith, two general stores, a product merchant and butcher. Today there’s a popular pub, the unique Lue Pottery and some self-contained and farm stay accommodation options. Take the scenic drive to Rylstone from Mudgee via Lue.
The gateway to the Goulburn River National Park. According to records, a noted pastoralist called Fitzgerald was one of the first settlers in Wollar who employed many shepherds and stockmen to supervise his cattle and sheep. The village was officially declared in March 1885.