Hill End is now home to a small eclectic community where visitors are encouraged to explore the town through its museums, arts community, walking trails and lookouts.
The village owes its existence to the gold rush of the 1850's and at its peak in the early 1870's had a population estimated at 8,000. There are signs around the village to give visitors an idea of what was once in place. One of the most popular activities in Hill End is gold panning. Metal detectors or gold panning are not allowed within the historic site, however there is a fossicking area just past the cemetery, off the Mudgee Road. Each year The End Festival takes place in April operated by the NPWS, and the town hosts twice annual open days to peek inside historic homes. The Bridle Track (easy 4WD) begins as a narrow tar-covered road from Hill End, however it later changes to dirt. Part of the track is currently impassable, after a rockfall at McMahon's Bluff. There is still access to the Turon River from Hill End along the track.
The village campground offers convenient camping with facilities close to the heritage attractions of Hill End, ideal for caravan camping. The Glendora campground is close to the centre of Hill End with modern facilities, ideal for large groups and the wildlife is a treat. To find out more, or make a booking visit www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au
Did you know?
The world's largest gold specimen, the 'Holtermann Nugget' was found in Hill End in 1872. The famous nugget was a 630lb rock containing more than 75% gold.