Our golden history + today’s fossicking
Gulgong town is built around and over many of the original goldfields. Gulgong Gold Experience (the location of the original gold discovery) creates an authentic insight into the Gulgong Gold Rush including a stamper and poppet head over an original mine shaft. Open Wed-Sun 10am to 2pm (7 days during school holidays + long weekends), call 0418 541 998.
Located 39km from Mudgee, Hargraves’ part in gold rush history is recalled by the old stamper that stands in the village’s park. An area for gold panning is next to the bridge over Louisa Creek, The General Store offers gold pans and other equipment – 02 6373 8540.
Hill End is the site of the discovery in 1872 of the famous Holtermann Nugget – the largest single mass of gold ever discovered, weighing in at 285kg. Almost all the Mudgee Region yielded gold. Large amounts of alluvial gold were recovered in the last century and some small reefs were mined.
The Cudgegong River is renowned as an area where occasional small gems have been found, including diamonds, sapphires and rubies. The National Parks and Wildlife Service manages the Hill End historic site, providing Heritage Centre. It is illegal to pan for gold within the town of Hill End, however there is a fossicking area set aside just north of the town at Tambaroora. The Bald Hill mine has also been restored and underground tours are held on a regular basis.
Gold fossicking equipment (except metal detectors but including gold pans) is also available at the Sofala Souvenir Shop – 02 6337 7075.
Now a ghost town, Tambaroora 3km from Hill End was once a thriving centre rivalling Hill End in size. The fossicking area is located 67km from Mudgee on the right hand side of the Hill End Road, at the point where Tambaroora Creek crosses the road. There are allocated areas for fossicking in Tambaroora, contact the National Parks and Wildlife office for details – 02 6370 9050.
Situated 37km from Mudgee, today the area remains popular for gold fossicking. There is a fossicking area adjacent to the hotel, on Long Creek and adjacent to the Meroo Creek Bridge on the Mudgee approach to the village. Gold pans and other equipment may be hired from the Bushlands Tourist Park – 02 6373 8252.
Featured this Month
Convent and Chapel Wool Shop
Simply beautiful yarns for discerning knitters. Local and international artisan yarns and stunning hand knits in a beautiful rural setting in a charming historic town.
Baker Williams Distillery
Baker Williams Distillery is a Micro Distillery located in Mudgee NSW, making handcrafted spirits and liqueurs focusing on regional flavours and influences. They welcome you to visit their cellar door so you can see, smell and taste their wares.
Established in 1858, ‘Craigmoor’, is Mudgee’s oldest winery and vineyard – featuring Mudgee wines, our historic cellar door and tasting room, wine museum and art gallery.